Knowledgebase
Client Deployment Through Active Directory:
Posted by Himanshu Kathpal on 13 January 2015 05:37 PM

With Through Active Directory, you can sync with Active Directory groups. Once you sync the group, the clients will get installed on all computers which come under your domain network. A periodic check is carried out to find out whether any new computer is added to your network. When a new computer is added, the client gets automatically installed on that computer.
You can also exclude certain computers from the Active Directory group so that the client is not installed on these computers.
Notes:
• To synchronize with Active Directory your console should be installed on the domain machine or should be a member of the domain.
• Synchronization cannot be done with 'Default' group.
• Groups which are shown in Red Color are already synced with Active Directory.
• The user should have permissions of “Domain Admins” to synchronize with Active Directory.
• Synchronization time interval is GLOBAL.

Synchronizing with Active Directory
To sync Active Directory groups, follow these steps:
1. Go to Quick Heal Endpoint Security > Clients > Client Deployment.
2. Click Through Active Directory.

A window appears with all the groups.

 

 

You must create new group for the same.

 

Give a name to the group.

 

 

3.Under EPS console,select a group.

 

 

In the right pane, Active Directory Container and Synchronization Interval of the selected group are displayed, if already synced. 

 

  1.  Right-click a group and select Synchronize with Active Directory. 

 

 

 

 

The Select a Domain screen appears. 

  1.  Select a domain and click Next. 

 

 

 

 

 

The Authentication screen appears. 

 

  1. Specify the name in the format of "domain name\user name" and enter a valid password and then click Next. 

 

 

 

 

 

The Select Active Directory Container screen appears. 

 

7.Select Domain name or ACtive Directory for synchronization

 

 

If you select a Domain Name, the whole Active Directory gets synced and if you select any Active Directory Container then only the selected container gets synced. 

 

8.Click Next

The Synchronization screen appears. 

9.In Synchronization Interval, type the time interval when a periodic check is to be performed for this group and then click Finish. 

 

Time should be specified between 1 to 24 hours. 

The directory is successfully synced. 

 

 

Editing Synchronization 

With Edit Synchronization, you can edit the time interval to carry out the check to find if a new computer is added to the network. You may need to change the frequency depending on how many and how often new computers are added. 

To edit the time interval, follow these steps: 

  1. Quick Heal Endpoint Security > Clients > Client Deployment. 
  2. Through Active Directory. A Window appears with all the groups. 
  1.  Under EPS Console, right-click an already synced group and click Edit Synchronization. 

 

 

 

The authentication screen for Synchronization with Active Directory appears. 

4. Type the password and click Next.

The Synchronization screen appears.
5. In the Synchronization interval text box, type the time interval.

Time should be specified between 1 to 24 hours.
6. To save the new setting, click Finish.

New synchronization setting is saved successfully.

Removing Synchronization:

With Remove Synchronization, you can remove the synchronization of a group,
To remove a synchronization setting, follow these steps:
1. Go to Quick Heal Endpoint Security > Clients > Client Deployment.
2. Click Through Active Directory.

A Window appears with all the groups.
3. Under EPS Console, right-click a group that has already been synchronized and click Remove Synchronization.

The synchronization of the selected group is removed successfully.

Exclusion 

With Exclusion, you can exclude certain workstations from installation of Endpoint Security Console client when Active directory is synchronized. EPS Console client will not get installed on excluded workstation. You can exclude workstations by Host Name, IP Address or IP Range.
To exclude a workstation, follow these steps:
1. Go to Quick Heal Endpoint Security > Clients > Client Deployment > Through Active Directory.
2. On the Through Active Directory page, click the Exclusion button.

A pop up appears with the options about how you want to exclude a workstation.
3. On the Exclude Workstations screen, select one of the following:  Exclude by Host Name: If you select this option, then type the Host Name and click Add. The workstation is added to the Excluded Workstations list.
Exclude by IP Address: If you select this option, then type the IP Address and click Add. The workstation is added to the Excluded Workstations list.
Exclude by IP Range: If you select this option, then type the Start IP Range and End IP Range details and click Add. The workstations are added to the Excluded Workstations list.
4. To save your settings, click Save.

Note: You can delete a workstation from the exclusion list whenever you prefer.

(2 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments: